Ace-Competent Professionals

If you have any suggestions for doctors/counsellors/anything or feedback on those already listed, please let us know! Shoot me an email at ericajmulder@gmail.com. (I will always keep you anonymous)

If you already have a doctor/counsellor and want to explain asexuality to them, you can send them to this resource.

Having a therapist that shares lived experiences can be very important. To help you find someone who shares those experiences, counsellors of colour have a ^ after their name and openly trans/non-binary therapists have a *.

Counsellors

Some of these therapists have been seen by local aces who’ve had good experiences and others have been recommended to us by other counsellors.

Lu Lam^* www.lulam.ca

  • Cost: $120 per 60min session
  • Locations:
    • Broadway and Cypress,
      • Main entrance flight of stairs, no elevator
      • Washrooms gendered, multi-stall
    • Broadway and Oak
      • Wheelchair accessible
      • Washrooms are single stall, gendered.

Jenn De Roo^* www.genderoo.com

  • Location: Chinatown
  • Cost: $140 per 50min session, has sliding scale options
  • Access Info: wheelchair accessible, scent-reduced space, the building has a non-automatic entrance door
  • Also supervises a community counselling program run by queer/trans graduate students for $60 per 50min session. www.genderoo.com/community-counselling-program/

Amber Louie^ www.amberlouie.com

  • Location: Chinatown
  • Cost: $160 per session for individual, $180 per session for couple
  • Access Info: gendered washrooms, non-automatic door, elevator, fragrance-free

Carsen Farmer www.dragonstonecounselling.ca/pract-cf.html

  • Location: Kitsilano
  • Access Info: three stairs with handrails, washrooms are gender neutral, scent-reduced space

Vanessa Fernando^ www.vanessafernando.com

  • Location: Chinatown
  • Cost: $120 per 50 min, $160 per 90 min
  • Access Info: wheelchair accessible and scent reduced

Daley Laing* www.fireseedfacilitation.org

  • Location: Online or over the phone
  • Cost: Pay-what-you-can

Bridgid McGowan www.bridgidmcgowan.com

  • Location: Close to the Commercial-Broadway skytrain station

Edward Sandberg edwardsandberg.com

  • Location: Kitsilano
  • Cost: $135 per 55min session, sliding scale down to $80

Linda M Dame lindamdame.com

  • Location: East Vancouver
  • Cost: $140 per one hour session, has sliding scale and no charge options
  • Access Info: Scent-free office and wheelchair accessible

Dragonstone Counselling www.dragonstonecounselling.ca

  • Location: Kitsilano
  • Access Info: three stairs with handrails, washrooms are gender neutral, scent-reduced space
  • Large(ish) practice with many folks working out of it.

Cora Bilsker www.nestedheartcounselling.com

  • Location: Downtown Vancouver and in Victoria, BC
  • Cost: 100$ per hour, has a limited number of sliding scale spaces
  • Access Info: Offers Skype counseling sessions

Rena Iwasaki^ www.jerichocounselling.com/counsellors/rena-iwasaki/

  • Location: West Broadway and Downtown Vancouver

Roya Vojdani www.jerichocounselling.com/counsellors/roya-vojdani/

  • Location: West Broadway and Downtown Vancouver

Lori Finklea www.lorifinkleacounselling.com

  • Location: Fairview
  • Cost: $120 per hour
  • Access Info: Elevator available


Doctors and Specialists

Dr. Langner

  • Location: Ladner